Day 8, Cartagena, Columbia

So this was our second day in Cartagena. Our plan for the day was to relax and enjoy ourselves. After the tour we had the day before we thought this would be fitting. I cant remember what time we got up but we headed to the buffet for breakfast. After a quick breakfast my wife and I headed back to the room where we ran into the rest of the family.

We decided to head back to the duty-free shop and look some more. My wife decided to stay behind along with my grandmother. So we all gathered our stuff together and headed out.

When we got to the shopping area I went and took some pictures of the animals.

Just out front of the duty-free there is a little pen with flamingos, peacocks and other animals as you can see from the photos above.

So we went through the shop and picked up a few more souvenirs. I got myself a hat, some chocolate covered banana pieces which was delicious, and some key chains for the guys back at work. After doing my shopping I headed to the other side of the area to look at the other animals since I was bored with the shop.

Just outside the shop is this little area full of parrots. I caught a couple of them fighting which was interesting to see. Sabrina did get close to them and I believe pet one of them. If she had her way she would take them all home.

DSC01846

I then went walking along the boardwalk and found these poor birds in quarantine. I had to take a picture of the owl as it is my sister in-laws favorite animal.

DSC01850

I then found the estuary and went in. I found this guy sitting right by the entrance, almost posing for a picture.

DSC01871

I made my way back to meet up with the rest of the family and came across this monkey trying to get a hold of some food.

DSC01890

I then found this little guy hiding above the snack bar surveying the area. They were quick to grab any food that had fallen or was unguarded.

DSC01893

I then came across this tree which is the monkeys home. This little guy jumped down right as I came up so I could get a good picture. He probably just wanted food but oh well still a good picture.

I then met up with everyone else because they were done shopping. They came out to see the animals and as we wandered around we found a vendor selling drinks. I ended up getting another coke light which again was fantastic. My  mother was also nice enough to buy us all an ice cream. I don’t remember what I had but it was nice on a hot day.

At this point Jordan was tired and wanted to go back to the ship. I volunteered to take him back as I was getting bit tired also. After we left the rest of the family continued to explore.

They found the estuary like I did. Here is a shot of a vulture and hawk that they have.

20160321_124353

This is a funny story. Supposedly right after this picture was taken one of the birds, I believe the peacock, came up to my mother and pecked her because it wanted food. My mother does not like birds so I would have loved to have seen her reaction.

There is also a little cave section that I found out about after that shows you what it is like in an emerald mine. We didn’t have the heart to tell Jordan about this as we knew he would want us to take him back to see it.

Once Jordan and I got to the ship I dropped off my stuff at the room and took him to get some food. He had his usual hamburgers while I grabbed something in the buffet. We then went back to our rooms where he could watch is cartoons and I could relax.

When I got back to my room my wife was there and I showed her what I had bought at the store. A few minutes later there was a knock on our door. It was my sister asking me to take my grandmother back out to the shops as she forgot to get coffee the day before. Me being a good grandson of course said yes, grabbed my stuff and off we went.

We took the bus to the end of the pier to make things easier for her and made our way to the coffee shop. I picked up a bag of coffee for some friends of ours and my grandmother got a couple of bags for her and my aunts.

We then walked around looking at the animals as my grandmother really wanted to see the monkeys. We got to snack bar area with their tree and none were to be seen. She was a little disappointed.

At this point she realised she didn’t have her sunglasses with her. I went back to the coffee shop to see if they were there. The girls in the shop said no they didn’t see them.

We retraced our steps and couldn’t find them. My grandmother was a little upset about this because my aunt had given them to her, but things would work out. We made our way back to the ship and headed back to our rooms.

My wife and I then ended relaxing a little bit and then headed out to walk around the boat. We ended up meeting with the family at Café El Bachio as usual and sat around having some snacks and drinks.

My grandmother told us she had gone to guest relations to see if her sunglasses had been turned in. The nice lady at the desk was showing her some and gave her a pair to try on. She then told my grandmother that they must be hers because they look so good on her. My grandmother not thinking said no they were the wrong color and put them back. We all looked at her and said that the girl was telling you to take them. My grandmother laughed and said, I think you are right.

After talking for a little bit we all went our separate ways. My wife, sister, and the kids went back to the rooms while my mother, grandmother and I went down to guest relations. My grandmother went back through the sunglasses and took the pair the girl had pointed out earlier. We then started to make our way back up the ship.

As we were walking my grandmother asked if I could read the name on the glasses as she wasn’t sure what they were. I looked at them and told her she had gotten a really good upgrade from her other glasses as these were Michael Kors. She was very happy that she had gotten some great glasses.

After this my wife and I relaxed in the room as usual. This night was a little different. I decided to go see the show this night before dinner which was comedian Keven Lee. I asked my wife if she wanted to go and she said no. I knocked on the door beside us and told Jordan to get ready we were going to go see the comedian and he was ready to go in a flash.

We made our way to the theater sitting in the upper area front row. We ordered some drinks and waited for the show to start. As we waited Jeniffer showed up to join us. Supposedly she told Jordan she was going to take him to the show but he didn’t tell me that of course.

Keven Lee was very entertaining. He has a good mix of comedy and magic. He got the audience to participate and knew how to work with things gone wrong, or dead jokes. I had seen a few things of his in the past but seeing him live was really entertaining and I recommend his show.

After this we got ready for dinner.

20160321_213251

Here is the menu for tonight.

20160321_215624

My wife had the Maine Lobster Ravioli. She said it was ok but you couldn’t really taste the lobster.

20160321_215630

This is the BBQ Pork Springroll. Whoever had it did say it was good.

20160321_220713

This is the Cream of Chicken soup. If you haven’t realised by now I like soup. This was a very good soup, lots of chicken flavour and very creamy.

20160321_220929(2)

Sabrina had the Panzanella salad. A bit of a change from her usual salad.

20160321_222026

I believe this was the duck my sister had. She said it was really good. I do apologise about the picture, something got corrupted.

20160321_222101

This was the Beef Brochette. The beef was tender and flavourful. I did enjoy this quite a bit. I also want to mention this while I see it in the picture. At the top left is the butter dish for our bread. I have to say I loved how you got three different options for your bread and it changed each night depending on the bread you got. I found this to be an excellent touch.

20160321_225607

Sorry no dessert menu again. This was a bananas foster and lava cake if I remember correctly.

20160321_225610

This was the no sugar added strawberry shortcake if I remember correctly. I remember it being really delicious.

After dinner we went back to the room got changed. I walked around the ship for a little while, grabbed a drink from Happy,and then went back to the room. My wife wasn’t asleep yet so we talked and cuddled for a little bit till she fell asleep. I listened to my music until I fell asleep also.

Up next is a sea day. Lets see the trouble we can get into. Again thanks for reading and any questions, feel free to ask.

 

Leave a comment